Showcase Gallery

FACE NEW YORK

January 12 - February 22, 2016

Artist Reception: Thursday, January 14, 2016
“I leave you my portrait so that you will have my presence all the days and all the nights that I am away from you.”
- Frieda Kahlo

IN the United States, the faces we recognize and the stories we hear are predominantly those of the wealthy and the famous. Seldom do people take the time to listen to and connect with those who are less fortunate. It is because of this pervasive attitude that it becomes easy to have a limiting narrative of how homelessness can occur. 17 artists from around the world and 18 members of the Bowery Mission community have come together to transform this narrative. Through generous sharing and the meticulous process of drawing, painting or sculpting the uniqueness of a face, each team of subject and artist invites viewers to face the much more complex reality: that for each of the more than 56,000 people dealing with homelessness in New York City there is a different story, and a different face.

- Allie Wilkinson, Curator
Bowery Mission WEBSITE https://www.bowery.org/
To donate: https://www.bowery.org/donate/

Since 1879, The Bowery Mission has served homeless, hungry and poor New Yorkers. Meals, shelter, and medical care lead to residential programs that offer men and women the opportunity to transform their lives. Children get a positive first chance through summer camp, mentoring and family support. A vital part of the Lower East Side, The Bowery Mission now offers new hope to neighborhoods like Harlem and the South Bronx.

Face New York Website: www.facenewyork.com

ARTISTS AND WEBSITES
Pairoj Pichetmetakul (Thailand) • www.likepairoj.com • Subject: Milo

Shaun Leonardo • www.elcleonardo.com • Subject: Rick

Beñat Iglesias López (Spain) • www.benatiglesias.com • Subjects: Declan & Jonesie

Satoshi Okada (Japan) • www.satoshiokada.com • Subject: Abimael

Mariana Zanina (Ukraine) • https://instagram.com/syghnatha • Subject: Mr. Sanders

Harry Hancock (Great Britain) • www.harryhancock.com • Subject: Andrew

Michael Wilkinson • www.michaelwilkinson.com • Subject: Mr. Macklin

Allie Wilkinson • www.alidawilkinson.com • Subjects: Mr. Macklin & William

Richard Weinstein • www.rich-weinstein.com • Subjects: Yannick & Jeffrey

María Paz (Chile) • www.mariapazcontreras.com • Subject: Richard

Jessica Olah • www.jessolah.com • Subject: Ed

Susah Coyne • www.coyneworks.com • Subject: Jordan

Eleanor Adam • www.eleanoradam.com • Subject: Rex

Yana Golikova (Russia) • https://www.instagram.com/inspirationy3012/ • Subject: James

Shiho Sato (Japan) • shihosato.blogspot.com • Subject: Anthony

Robin Kappy • robinkappy.blogspot.com • Subject: Willie

 

Artist Featured in Exhibition

An art project designed to bring visibility to people experiencing homelessness in New York City

Artist Featured in Exhibition

Declan

X